When Microsoft announced that Insomniac’s next title would be exclusive to XBox One there was a lot of hype and anticipation to say the least. Now that the game is out, I’m here to say you can forget the hype…because Sunset Overdrive surpasses it. 

Spoiler alert!!!!

I love every single little aspect of this game. It’s exactly the type of game I’ve been looking for for years. It’s visually appealing, the music is great, the world is huge and the game is just a ton of fun. Readers should be ready to read the word game in this review a lot because that’s my absolute favorite part of Sunset Overdrive; it feels like a video game. Something that has been missing from gaming for too long.

The story in Sunset Overdrive is laughable and that is in no way a bad thing; In short, armageddon is upon us and it’s all a beverage company’s fault. That’s right folks you can blame the end of the world on a company named Fizzco that boasts the quality of its’ products every chance it gets, even in the most inappropriate times.

Players take control of their customizable character in an open world known as Sunset City.  Gamers have their choice of how to get around; Running through the street, grinding up and down any surface imaginable including power lines, jumping from rooftop to rooftop or even an automated fast travel (Although traversing through the map is so much fun that fast travel won’t even be a thought with most players). 

Weapons found throughout Sunset Overdrive become more and more operationally hilarious as the game goes on and can be upgraded quite often. These are complemented by weapons created by the environment, a great example of this is a railway power switch that electrocutes enemies, holding them in place on a subway track as the train plows them over as it passes by.

Collectibles are a big part of every open world game, and this game has no shortage of them. The big difference for me between this title and every other sandbox game is that I couldn’t wait to find them all. As I stated earlier, every facet of this game is just plain fun to me.

I’d hate to spoil any of the surprises held within this game, and there are a ton of them, so I won’t go into any more details of it, but I will throw this out there: The story is hilarioius, the talk track is interesting, the living-breathing world is a blast to explore and there is no shortage hilarious anecdotes. The game does not take it too seriously and i’m pretty sure that this is the first game ever where I was excited to die. Simply put, Sunset Overdrive is a must play for any XBox One owners and if you don’t have an XBox One, find a friend that has one and either try their copy. If they don’t have it then rent it and try it out, because I can just about guarantee that it’ll be on your wish list this holiday season afterward.

A warning to parents; The language in Sunset Overdrive is quite adult-oriented, however there is a language filter in the options menu.

This review of Sunset Overdrive was conducted using a digital code provided by Microsoft. The opinions reflected in this review are those of Richard Booth and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the rest of the staff at GamesRelated.

Rich has been involved in the gaming industry for over ten years, working with such companies as Jace Hall ShowTwin Galaxies and Nintendojo. He began GamesRelated in order to bring positivity to gaming journalism. Much of what is out today is completely negative, and GR aims to be the place where that stops and the news is simply reported.

Categories: Reviews

Richard Booth

Richard Booth

Rich has been involved in the gaming industry for over ten years, working with such companies as Jace Hall ShowTwin Galaxies and Nintendojo. He began GamesRelated in order to bring positivity to gaming journalism. Much of what is out today is completely negative, and GR aims to be the place where that stops and the news is simply reported.

42 Comments

This Site · August 5, 2018 at 12:19 pm

I simply want to mention I’m all new to weblog and seriously loved you’re web-site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You actually have fabulous stories. Many thanks for sharing with us your website page.

John Deere Service Manuals · August 17, 2018 at 5:28 am

Ha ha… I was just browsing around and took a glimpse at these responses. I can’t believe that there’s still this much attention. Thanks for posting about this.

Metroclick Photo Booth Rental · August 19, 2018 at 8:31 am

MetroClick specializes in building completely interactive products like Photo Booth for rental or sale, Touch Screen Kiosks, Large Touch Screen Displays , Monitors, Digital Signages and experiences. With our own hardware production facility and in-house software development teams, we are able to achieve the highest level of customization and versatility for Photo Booths, Touch Screen Kiosks, Touch Screen Monitors and Digital Signage. Visit MetroClick at http://www.metroclick.com/ or , 121 Varick St, New York, NY 10013, +1 646-843-0888

Faytech North America Touch Screen Monitor · August 19, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Faytech North America is a touch screen Manufacturer of both monitors and pcs. They specialize in the design, development, manufacturing and marketing of Capacitive touch screen, Resistive touch screen, Industrial touch screen, IP65 touch screen, touchscreen monitors and integrated touchscreen PCs. Contact them at http://www.faytech.us, 121 Varick Street, New York, NY 10013, +1 646 205 3214

John Deere Repair Manuals · August 25, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Great post, thanks. I just shown interest in your feed!

career college · September 8, 2018 at 9:33 am

Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

http://www.balihotelbookings.com · September 8, 2018 at 10:29 am

We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

https://www.4youhotels.com · September 8, 2018 at 11:31 am

I simply could not leave your web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info an individual supply to your guests? Is going to be again continuously in order to check out new posts

http://www.toptechjobs.net · September 8, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such great information being shared freely out there.

John Deere Repair Manuals · September 9, 2018 at 8:37 am

I don’t really get how there is much different between the New York Times publishing this or some online site. Content such as this needs to be pushed out more frequently. I would hope that citizens in America would take a stand like this.

Automotive · September 10, 2018 at 5:06 pm

I’m very happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

Travel and Tour · September 10, 2018 at 5:07 pm

You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Business & Finance · September 10, 2018 at 5:07 pm

I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Pets & Animal · September 10, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Keep working ,splendid job!

Home Improvement · September 11, 2018 at 7:15 pm

Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

Health · September 12, 2018 at 9:26 am

Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

Business · September 12, 2018 at 4:01 pm

As soon as I observed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

Women · September 13, 2018 at 3:17 am

Thank you for all of the efforts on this site. My daughter take interest in engaging in research and it’s really simple to grasp why. All of us learn all concerning the dynamic ways you render reliable steps by means of your website and therefore attract contribution from some other people on that theme and our favorite simple princess is in fact understanding a great deal. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You are doing a glorious job.

Career And Jobs · September 13, 2018 at 5:53 pm

You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Pets · September 14, 2018 at 11:28 pm

I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

business card maker · October 16, 2018 at 1:22 pm

Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and come with approximately all significant infos. I¡¦d like to peer extra posts like this .

shop homes · October 16, 2018 at 2:07 pm

This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

home shopping network · October 16, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually understand what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my site =). We can have a hyperlink change agreement among us!

tech news · October 16, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually recognize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally discuss with my site =). We may have a link change contract between us!

cheap flight tickets · October 16, 2018 at 3:40 pm

I have been reading out many of your articles and it’s pretty clever stuff. I will surely bookmark your website.

Travel & Leisure · October 16, 2018 at 4:51 pm

My spouse and i were so satisfied Edward managed to complete his preliminary research by way of the ideas he acquired from your site. It is now and again perplexing to just continually be offering ideas which some other people may have been selling. Therefore we fully understand we have the website owner to give thanks to for that. The entire explanations you’ve made, the straightforward web site navigation, the friendships you can assist to instill – it’s got all extraordinary, and it’s assisting our son and our family understand this theme is pleasurable, which is rather essential. Thank you for all the pieces!

Travel & Leisure · October 16, 2018 at 6:03 pm

I¡¦ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Home Improvement · October 16, 2018 at 6:35 pm

Some genuinely excellent content on this website , regards for contribution.

Travel & Leisure · October 16, 2018 at 8:03 pm

I needed to compose you the little bit of word to be able to thank you very much as before for your personal great methods you have shared at this time. It is so remarkably open-handed with you to allow unreservedly just what a number of us would’ve made available for an electronic book to generate some profit for their own end, primarily now that you could possibly have tried it if you wanted. The secrets likewise acted to become a great way to fully grasp that most people have the same interest similar to my personal own to know much more on the subject of this matter. I am sure there are some more fun situations ahead for those who read through your blog.

Travel & Leisure · October 16, 2018 at 8:33 pm

A lot of thanks for every one of your hard work on this blog. My niece delights in carrying out investigation and it’s obvious why. Many of us notice all concerning the dynamic manner you create functional tricks on the website and even increase contribution from other people on this area plus our favorite girl is always studying a lot of things. Take advantage of the rest of the year. Your doing a remarkable job.

John Deere Repair Manuals · October 17, 2018 at 3:57 am

i like it jobs because it is a high paying job and you work in an air conditioned office**

Home Improvement · October 17, 2018 at 12:51 pm

F*ckin’ amazing things here. I’m very satisfied to peer your post. Thank you a lot and i am taking a look ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

Fashion · October 17, 2018 at 8:46 pm

Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

Web Design · October 18, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Some really quality content on this website , saved to my bookmarks .

Fashion · October 19, 2018 at 8:12 am

Really superb info can be found on weblog . “Compassion for myself is the most powerful healer of them all.” by Theodore Isaac Rubin.

interior lightning · October 19, 2018 at 4:13 pm

I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

Home Improvement · October 19, 2018 at 4:47 pm

You are my intake, I possess few web logs and sometimes run out from brand :). “No opera plot can be sensible, for people do not sing when they are feeling sensible.” by W. H. Auden.

cool gadgets · October 19, 2018 at 4:53 pm

Good day very nice blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally¡KI am satisfied to find a lot of useful information right here within the post, we’d like work out extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

contractor · October 19, 2018 at 5:17 pm

I have not checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

health magazine · October 19, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Lovely site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

Home Improvement · October 20, 2018 at 3:35 am

I really enjoy reading on this web site , it holds wonderful content . “I have a new philosophy. I’m only going to dread one day at a time.” by Charles M. Schulz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.